Formerly located at 6 Station Approach, on the site where Iceland currently stands, was a 1930s cinema known as The Rex Cinema, which first opened its doors in 1936.

At its peak, the cinema seated more than 1,000 people and stood at the epicentre of leisure in Hayes.

The Rex Cinema opened on August 6 1936 and was built by General Cinema Theatres Ltd on land originally earmarked for the railway station.

It was designed by cinema architect Cecil Masey, who was also responsible for the Granada Theatre in Tooting, and featured a mix of architectural styles combining Queen Anne and Moorish design.

The cinema also housed a café for patrons and screened some of Hollywood’s most iconic films of the era, featuring stars such as Bing Crosby and Katharine Hepburn.

During the Second World War, the cinema changed hands to the Odeon brand in 1942 and was officially renamed the Odeon in July 1945, shortly after the end of the war.

Despite its modern design and strong branding, the Hayes Odeon became one of the early casualties of the television age as audiences increasingly stayed at home.

It closed on October 27 1956, just short of its 20th anniversary.

Its final programme was a double bill starring Spencer Tracy in Bad Day at Black Rock and Gina Lollobrigida in Wife for a Night.

The building was later demolished, marking the end of Hayes’ former cinema.





Source link

Share.
Leave A Reply

Exit mobile version